Andy’s Weblog

Allows for creativity

I have fallen in love

I have fallen in love

With the same woman three times

In a day spanning nineteen years

Of tearful joys and joyful tears

 

I loved her first when she was young

Enchanting and vibrant, eternally new

She was brilliant, fragrant

And cool as the morning dew

I fell in love with her the second time

 

When first she bore her child and mine

She’s always by my side

The source of my strength

Helping to turn the tide

 

But there were candles to burn

The world was my concern

While our home was her domain

And the people were mine

While the children were hers to maintain

So it was in those eighteen years and a day

Till I was detained, forced in prison to stay

Suddenly she’s our sole support

Source of comfort, our wellspring of hope

On her shoulders fell the burden of life

 

I fell in love again with the same woman the third time

Looming from the battle her courage will never fade

Amidst the hardships she has remained

Undaunted and unafraid

She is calm and composed

She is God’s lovely maid

That poem, titled I Have Fallen In Love (With The Same Woman Three Times), was written by Benigno Aquino Jr. for Cory Aquino at Fort Bonifacio on Oct. 11, 1973 for their 19th wedding anniversary and set to music by Jose Mari Chan who recorded it in 1989.

part of  CONVERSATIONS With Ricky Lo (Philstar News Service, www.philstar.com

August 2, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment